New SU President

4th July 2017

News, Student news, Alumni news

Undergraduate Jack Wands (PPE 2016) has been elected as SU President for 2017/8.

  • Student Union President, Jack Wands

    Student Union President, Jack Wands

Following Student Union elections in Trinity Term, a new committee has been elected with Jack as President and Lizzy Diggins (History, 2016) as Vice-President.

In his new role, Jack is committed to focussing on three main areas: Efficiency and transparency of the SU committee’s work, improving participation in the SU, and working more closely with university-wide groups.

Since joining Wadham, Jack has been working with a variety of groups to improve access to top universities for young people from disadvantaged back grounds. “I’ve worked with the Social Mobility Foundation and, over the last two terms, I’ve been getting involved in access and OUSU campaigns in the wider university. I want to continue and expand upon these efforts as SU President.”

Jack has devoted time to the LGBTQ campaign and helped set up the Oxford University Student Union Class Act campaign to support working class, low income, state comprehensive educated and first generation students at Oxford.
Vice-President, Lizzy Diggins aims to ensure that SU democracy runs smoothly, working to increase voter turnout and improve communication channels.

The new SU committee will take up their positions at the beginning of Michaelmas term in October.

  • SU Vice-President, Lizzy Diggins

    SU Vice President, Lizzy Diggins

SU committee members 2017/8

President: Jack Wands
Vice President: Lizzy Diggins
Academic Officer: Tarafa Holford
Access Officer: Amy Howlett
Amenities Rep: Conor Williets
Arts Officer: John Livesey
Bar & Social: Greg Ritchie and Vita Bax
Charities, Environment and Ethics Officer: Milo Thursfield
Communications Officer: Harry Darrant
Disabled Students' Officer: Hannah Cassens Marshall
Domestic Officer:  Louise Drognat-Landré
Entz Officers: Alex Coonar, Oli Nelson, Son Olszewski and Theo Anton
Food Rep: Rhian Friedeberg-Stewart
Freshers' President: Martha Glover
Housing Rep: Avishek Mondal
International Officer: Hazem Hassan
LGBTQIA+ Officer: Harrie England & Ben Black
PoCRE Officer: Taiwo Ava Oyebola & Hanako Lowry
Sports Officer: Georgia Mason
Staff Liaison Officer: Freddie Wolff
Tech Officer: Saul Mendelsohn
Tech Rep: James Cochrane
Tortoise Officer:  Aditya Desai
Trans Rep: Sarah Dittrich
Treasurer: Ivy Manning
Welfare Officers: Elli Watson, Evie Atmore, Joseff Reed and Sophie Longstaff
Women’s Officer: Hannah-Lily Lanyon