21st October 2021


Members of Wadham’s Governing Body witnessed the formal ‘signing-in’ of new Warden Robert Hannigan and 17 new Fellows at a ceremony in Hall this week.

  • Dr Jenny Boddy signs in

    Dr Jenny Boddy signs in 

  • Signing in ceremony

    Warden Robert Hannigan introduces Wadham's new Fellows

  • Attila Szabó signs in

    Attila Szabó signs in

  • Robert Hannigan signing in the book which dates back to the founding of the College.

    Robert Hannigan signing in the book which dates back to the founding of the College. 

  • An opening page in the signing in book

    An opening page in the signing in book

  • Signing in ceremony
  • Signing in ceremony

The magnificent Signing-in Book has listed admissions of Wardens and Fellows since the arrival of the first Fellows to Wadham College in 1613.

Sub-Warden Carolin Duttlinger welcomed guests to the ceremony before the signing commenced. 

Pandemic restrictions meant several fellows who joined Wadham in 2019 and 2020 had been unable to sign in until now.

Former Professor of Diplomatic at the University of Oxford, Wadham College medievalist and historian Richard Sharpe (1954-2020) was fondly remembered for his contributions to signing in ceremonies over many years.   

Wadham’s newly signed in fellows are:

DAVIS, Professor Seamus: SRF in Physics, 25 January 2019

LICAUSI, Dr Francesco: UL in Biology (Plant Sciences), 27 January 2020

BALISTER, Professor Paul: UL in Maths, 1 July 2020

SOUTHCOMBE, Dr George: FSE in History, 1 July 2020

CHRISTENSEN, Dr Hannah: UL in Physics, 27 July 2020

BODDY, Dr Jenny: FSE in Law, 1 September 2020

GRACE, Dr Molly:  FSE in Biology, 1 September 2020

CULLINAN HERRING, Dr Sarah: Hody FSE in Classics, 1 October 2020

FROGGATT, Dr Michael: FSE; Senior Tutor (2020-22), 1 October 2020

SZABO, Mr Attila: Keeley-Rutherford JRF in Physics, 1 October 2020

MCDERMOTT, Dr Lucy:  JRF in Medical Sciences, 1 October 2020

MOODY, Dr Laura: JRF in Plant Sciences (MPLS JRF), 1 October 2020

ALDAY, Prof. Luis Fernando: Rouse Ball Professor in Maths, 27 November 2020

STARESINA, Dr Bernard:  UL in Experimental Psychology, 1 August 2021

CHOUDHRY, Prof. Shazia: APTF in Law, 1 September 2021

ELLIOTT, Dr Paul: FSE in Biochemistry, 1 September 2021

GREGORY, Dr Georgina: R. J. P Williams JRF in Chemistry, 1 October 2021 

UL: University Lecturer
FSE: Fellow by Special Election
JRF: Junior Research Fellow
SRF: Senior Research Fellow
APTF: Associate Professor and Tutorial Fellow

Related news